Global Experiences Advisory Committee


The responsibilities of the Education Abroad Advisory Committee (EAAC) are varied and responsive to the operations and policies of all the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL) and UNL-affiliated education abroad programs. Committee members:

  • Provide input for the development and selection of experiences abroad for UNL students. This includes experiences centered on study, internships, service-learning and research.
  • Recommend policy and new/revised procedures to the Education Abroad Office (EAO), Associate Vice Chancellor (AVC/SIO) for Global Affairs/Senior International Officer, and other appropriate authoritative UNL body.
  • Review existing policies and help solidify adherence to current and future education abroad programming policies across all departments and colleges;
  • Review proposals for UNL faculty-led programs (rationale, consistent on-site integration, good practice standards, contact hours, etc.);
  • Evaluate participant feedback of faculty-led programs to ensure adherence to UNL expectations (as defined by set criteria) and make recommendations to the EAAC and AVC/SIO, as necessary;
  • Counsel Director of Education Abroad and AVC/SIO for Global Affairs on student appeals (on rare occasions);
  • Conduct review and recommend the appropriate and equitable awarding of scholarships administered by the EAO (to be conducted by EAAC sub-committee).

Chair of Committee

The Director of the EAO chairs the EAAC. The Associate Director (AD) chairs meetings when the Director is unavailable. The AVC for Global Affairs/SIO reviews all recommendations set forth by the EAAC and serves as an ex-officio member, attending meetings when possible.


All members are active, full-time UNL faculty and staff reflecting a diversity of units/divisions and areas of expertise (curriculum, advising, business and finance, education abroad program leadership, etc.). The AVC for Global Affairs/SIO appoints the committee members in collaboration with Deans/Chairs/Supervisors. Terms of membership are staggered, ranging in length from one to three years, to ensure continuity and broad participation of faculty and staff across the institution.

Current Members

  • Julia Frengs, Assistant Professor, College of Arts and Sciences (through Fall 2021)
  • Mark Hoistad, Professor and Director of the Landscape Architecture Program, College of Architecture (through Summer 2022)
  • Gary Kebbel, Professor, College of Journalism and Mass Communications (through Fall 2020)
  • Daniel Linzell, Professor and Associate Dean for Graduate and International Programs, College of Engineering (through Summer 2022)
  • Elsbeth Magilton, Executive Director of Technology, Security, and Space Law Initiatives, Nebraska College of Law (through Fall 2021)
  • Laurie Miller, Associate Professor of Practice, College of Business (through Summer 2023)
  • Larkin Powell, Professor and Associate Dean, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources (through Fall 2021)
  • Jenelle Reeves, Associate Professor, College of Education and Human Sciences (through Fall 2021)
  • Sandra Williams, Associate Professor, Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts (through Fall 2021)